Everyone who drives needs auto insurance. Nevertheless, there are countless accidents each year that involve uninsured drivers, resulting in hefty costs, fines, and, in some cases, even jail time. There are over 7 million licensed drivers in Georgia, and there are a lot more than that on our state roads when visitors and unlicensed drivers are taken into consideration. Having a good auto insurance policy in place takes away a lot of unnecessary stress and worry.
At Fallaize Insurance Agency, Inc., we understand that individual drivers need policies tailored to suit their needs. Please feel free to reach out to us at any time with questions or to discuss your policy options. In the meantime, keep reading to learn more about auto insurance in Georgia.
Georgia Auto Insurance Laws
Like all states, Georgia mandates that all drivers meet minimum auto insurance requirements (for Bodily Injury, Property Damage, and Uninsured Motorist coverage) to drive on public roads. You are required to present proof of insurance to the Motor Vehicle Division of the Georgia Department of Revenue in order to register your vehicle in the first place.
Get caught driving without insurance? In Georgia, that's considered to be a misdemeanor. As a result, you could face fines up to $1,000, as well as up to 12 months of jail time. Additionally, your license may also be suspended for 60 to 90 days.
Finding the Right Policy
While there are specific minimum requirements that must be met for the state, the truth is that it's rarely ever a good idea to go for the bare minimum. The right auto insurance policy for you will depend on factors like your specific needs, driving tendencies and history, location, and of course, your type of vehicle. Other considerations may be whether you have more than one vehicle or have another driver you would like to put on your policy.
Ready to find the perfect auto insurance policy and get out on the road without worry? Contact us at Fallaize Insurance Agency, Inc. today!